Monday, 21 October 2019

NASCAR Cup playoffs at Richmond 2018: Start time, lineup, TV schedule, more – USA TODAY

NASCAR Cup playoffs at Richmond 2018: Start time, lineup, TV schedule, more – USA TODAY
04 Aug

It’s NASCAR race day at Richmond Raceway, and we’ve got some essential information you need to get ready for Saturday night’s Federated Auto Parts 400, the second playoff race of the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series:

START TIME: Tim Trudnowski, President of Automotive Jobber Supply, will instruct drivers to start their engines at 7:27 p.m. ET followed by the green flag at 7:33 p.m. ET.

RACE DISTANCE: The Federated Auto Parts 400 is 400 laps around the 0.75-mile Richmond Raceway for a total of 300 miles.

RACE STAGES: After a successful run last season, NASCAR will once again be dividing races into stages and handing out points. Here are the segments for tonight’s Cup race: Stage 1: 100 laps, Stage 2: 100 laps, Stage 3: 200 laps.

PLAYOFFS: Tonight’s race is the second of 10 playoff races and the second of the three-race first round, which concludes next weekend at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Sixteen drivers qualified for the postseason and four will be eliminated after the Sept. 30 Charlotte race.

PREVIEW: Richmond could hold key to playoff advancement

DALE JR.: How four best playoff drivers can be stopped

ATHLETES: Former college football players flock to NASCAR pit crews

NATIONAL ANTHEM: The President’s Own United States Marine Band will perform the national anthem at 7:21 p.m. ET, followed by a flyover by four F-15s from the 159th Fighter Wing, Louisiana Air National Guard.

TV RADIO SCHEDULE: The race will be broadcast on NBC Sports Network (NBCSN) starting at 7:30 p.m. ET, with a pre-show beginning at 7 p.m. ET. Radio calls can be found on the Motor Racing Network and Sirius/XM NASCAR Radio.

LIVE STREAMING: will live-stream the race for those who sign in with their cable/satellite provider’s credentials.

Show Thumbnails
Show Captions

WEATHER: The race should begin under cloudy skies with temperatures around 70. As the temperature drops into the high 60s as the night wears on, the chance of precipitation increases. The Weather Channel is forecasting a 10-20% chance of showers after 9 p.m.

LAST TIME: Kyle Busch led the final 11 laps and 32 overall in April to win at Richmond for the fifth time in the Cup Series. In September 2017, in the final regular-season race of last season, Kyle Larson led 53 laps to record his fifth career Cup win.

LINEUP:Kevin Harvick won his third pole of the season and the 24th of his Cup Series career, turned a lap at 121.880 mph on Friday night to edge hometown favorite Denny Hamlin, who will start second.

Three drivers had their qualifying speeds disallowed after failing inspection and will start at the rear of the field: Daniel Suarez, Regan Smith and David Ragan. Kyle Busch will also drop the to rear of the field after making unapproved adjustments following qualifying.

Here is the starting lineup for the Federated Auto Parts 400 (car number in parentheses; *-dropping to rear of field). 

1. (4) Kevin Harvick, Ford

2. (11) Denny Hamlin, Toyota

3. (78) Martin Truex Jr., Toyota

4. (12) Ryan Blaney, Ford

5. (41) Kurt Busch, Ford

6. (10) Aric Almirola, Ford

7. (2) Brad Keselowski, Ford

8. (20) Erik Jones, Toyota

9. (42) Kyle Larson, Chevrolet

10. (51) Cole Custer, Ford

*-11. (18) Kyle Busch, Toyota

12. (22) Joey Logano, Ford

13. (88) Alex Bowman, Chevrolet

14. (1) Jamie McMurray, Chevrolet

15. (17) Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Ford

16. (31) Ryan Newman, Chevrolet

17. (6) Matt Kenseth, Ford

18. (9) Chase Elliott, Chevrolet

19. (24) William Byron, Chevrolet

20. (21) Paul Menard, Ford

21. (48) Jimmie Johnson, Chevrolet

22. (37) Chris Buescher, Chevrolet

23. (34) Michael McDowell, Ford

24. (14) Clint Bowyer, Ford

25. (43) Bubba Wallace, Chevrolet

26. (3) Austin Dillon, Chevrolet

27. (32) Matt DiBenedetto, Ford

28. (47) AJ Allmendinger, Chevrolet

29. (13) Ty Dillon, Chevrolet

30. (15) Ross Chastain, Chevrolet

31. (72) Corey LaJoie, Chevrolet

32. (96) Jeffrey Earnhardt, Toyota

33. (52) Gray Gaulding, Ford

34. (23) Alon Day, Toyota

35. (00) Joey Gase, Chevrolet

36. (99) Landon Cassill, Chevrolet

37. (66) Timmy Hill, Toyota

38. (19) Daniel Suarez, Toyota

39. (95) Regan Smith, Chevrolet

40. (38) David Ragan, Ford

Show Thumbnails
Show Captions




« »


Related Articles