Friday, 21 February 2020

NASCAR: Updated look at the 2020 Daytona 500 entry list – Beyond the Flag

NASCAR: Updated look at the 2020 Daytona 500 entry list – Beyond the Flag
01 Feb

With Daytona 500 qualifying scheduled to take place in just over a week, let’s take an updated look at the entry list for the 2020 NASCAR Cup Series season opener.

The 2020 NASCAR Cup Series season-opening Daytona 500 is just around the corner, and the qualifying sessions for the 62nd annual running of this event are scheduled to get underway in just over a week.

The starting grid for this 200-lap race around the four-turn, 2.5-mile (4.023-kilometer) high-banked superspeedway oval in Daytona Beach, Florida is set to be solidified through both a single-car qualifying session and two qualifying races, the Bluegreen Vacations Duels.

On Sunday, February 9, the front row is set to be solidified through a single-car qualifying session featuring all entries, and on Thursday, February 13, the starting positions for the rest of the field are set to be determined through these two Duels.

But a few drivers will not end up with any starting positions and instead fail to qualify for the race, as the field will feature only 40 cars.

Factoring in everything as it stands right now, there are currently 42 confirmed entries with 42 confirmed drivers lined up to compete in the 2020 Daytona 500 on Sunday, February 16.

There are also two more possible additions, meaning that between two and four of the non-chartered entries will be bumped from the field. With all 36 charters being utilized, this means that between six and eight drivers will end up vying for the final four open positions on the grid.

Let’s take a look at the entry list for the 62nd annual Daytona 500 with how things currently stand.

NOTE: * = non-chartered entry

Full-time drivers (confirmed)

Chip Ganassi Racing

  • Kurt Busch, #1 Chevrolet
  • Kyle Larson, #42 Chevrolet

Front Row Motorsports

  • Michael McDowell, #34 Ford
  • John Hunter Nemechek, #38 Ford

Gaunt Brothers Racing

  • Daniel Suarez, #96 Toyota*

Germain Racing

  • Ty Dillon, #13 Chevrolet

Go Fas Racing

  • Corey LaJoie, #32 Ford

Hendrick Motorsports

  • Chase Elliott, #9 Chevrolet
  • William Byron, #24 Chevrolet
  • Jimmie Johnson, #48 Chevrolet
  • Alex Bowman, #88 Chevrolet

Joe Gibbs Racing

  • Denny Hamlin, #11 Toyota
  • Kyle Busch, #18 Toyota
  • Martin Truex Jr., #19 Toyota
  • Erik Jones, #20 Toyota

JTG Daugherty Racing

  • Ryan Preece, #37 Chevrolet
  • Ricky Stenhouse Jr., #47 Chevrolet

Leavine Family Racing

  • Christopher Bell, #95 Toyota

Premium Motorsports

  • Brennan Poole, #15 Chevrolet

Richard Childress Racing

  • Austin Dillon, #3 Chevrolet
  • Tyler Reddick, #8 Chevrolet

Rick Ware Racing

  • Joey Gase, #51 TBD
  • J.J. Yeley, #52 TBD

Richard Petty Motorsports

  • Bubba Wallace, #43 Chevrolet

Roush Fenway Racing

  • Ryan Newman, #6 Ford
  • Chris Buescher, #17 Ford

StarCom Racing

  • Quin Houff, #00 Chevrolet

Stewart-Haas Racing

  • Kevin Harvick, #4 Ford
  • Aric Almirola, #10 Ford
  • Clint Bowyer, #14 Ford
  • Cole Custer, #41 Ford

Team Penske

  • Brad Keselowski, #2 Ford
  • Ryan Blaney, #12 Ford
  • Joey Logano, #22 Ford

Wood Brothers Racing

  • Matt DiBenedetto, #21 Ford

Full-time drivers (speculated)

MBM Motorsports

  • Timmy Hill, #66 car* (confirmed for Daytona 500, #66 Ford)

Full-time seats (confirmed)

Rick Ware Racing

  • David Ragan, #36 Ford (confirmed for Daytona 500 with support from Front Row Motorsports)

Spire Motorsports

  • Ross Chastain, #77 Chevrolet (confirmed for two races with support from Chip Ganassi Racing)

Remaining full-time seats (speculated)

MBM Motorsports

  • See “Full-time drivers (speculated)”

Daytona 500 one-offs (confirmed)

Jonathan Byrd’s Racing with Hayward Motorsports

  • James Davison, #TBD TBD*

Kaulig Racing

  • Justin Haley, #16 Chevrolet*

Daytona 500 one-offs (speculated)

Other (confirmed)

Beard Motorsports

  • Brendan Gaughan, #62 Chevrolet* (confirmed for four superspeedway races)

MBM Motorsports

  • Chad Finchum, #49 Toyota* (confirmed for Daytona 500)

Other (speculated)

Premium Motorsports

  • #27 Chevrolet* (Reed Sorenson?)

Rick Ware Racing

Next: Top 10 NASCAR drivers of all-time

Fox is set to broadcast the single-car qualifying session for the 2020 NASCAR Cup Series season opener live from Daytona International Speedway beginning at 12:30 p.m. ET on Sunday, February 9. Fox Sports 1 is set to broadcast the Bluegreen Vacations Duels live beginning at 7:00 p.m. ET on Thursday, February 13, and Fox is set to broadcast the Daytona 500 itself beginning at 2:30 p.m. ET on Sunday, February 16.



« »


Related Articles